Not love at first sight

I already knew Palermo is usually not love at first sight.
Hail and heavy rain alternately welcomed me. I only had to walk 800 meters from the central station to the hotel. Unfortunately I encircled my destination without finding it.
I found no one who knew the street I was looking for. At the time I arrived at my accommodation I was completely wet and my hands and feet were fully frozen.
Regrettably the rain didn’t stop pouring for the next two days. The adverse weather made it very difficult to me to recognise the charm of the fading facades of the city. The old slippery stone streets, the washed-out walls and the overgrown cornices could not tell me fluently their stories. Only during short rain pauses I could listen to the with history overfilled surrounding. The buildings wanted to talk to me but they were constantly being interrupted by stubborn and windy rainfalls. Our attempt of conversation was permanently broken off.
The portico of the Cathedral of Palermo invited me friendly to enter the church. Only inside the Cathedral it was possible to listen to the voice of the walls. They sheltered me from the inclement weather and started showing me the beauty of the city. The wide variety of architectural styles in the church showed me a long and rich history of additions, alterations and restorations. This is probably one of the world’s most eclectic ecclesiastical architecture examples.
Covered by the warm light falling through couples and windows I start understanding the rich Sicilian culture.
Luckily I’ll be visiting the city some days later and I will enjoy a pleasant time here…

Über angica

I love what I live: daydreaming ▪ architecture ▪ photography ▪ travel ▪ silence ▪ art ▪ my curiosity ▪ books ▪ abstraction ▪ languages ▪ dialogues ▪ writing ▪ museums ▪ sea ▪ guitar ▪ colour blue ▪ food ▪ details ▪ filigree ▪ change ▪ motion ▪ my freckles ▪ manual work ▪ piano ▪ colour white ▪ flamenco music ▪ salt water ▪ haiku ▪ sweets ▪ warmth ▪ reduction ▪ lateral thinking ▪ inspirations ▪ yoga ▪ sand ▪ light, light and more light.
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Travel abgelegt und mit , , , , , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

7 Antworten zu Not love at first sight

  1. Ericha schreibt:

    Even in the rain the architecture is beautiful! Loved reading your first encounter with Palermo, can’t wait to read more! 🙂

  2. Sandrine schreibt:

    I always wonder how to photograph buildings… I love the way you shoot architecture! Nice…

    • angica schreibt:

      Thank you Sandrine! Your comment encourages me to keep looking for the right angles and points of view. I’m constantly looking for them…

  3. Melissa M schreibt:

    Very nice gallery! Great story and look forward to seeing photographs from the entire week and the food styling!

  4. Nicole schreibt:

    Beautiful captures! Looking forward to seeing the rest of your captures from your time in Sicily 🙂

Kommentar verfassen

